ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

COMMITTEE Council

DATE 17th May 2017

REPORT TITLE Election of Councillors

REPORT NUMBER OCE/17/007

LEAD OFFICER Chief Executive

REPORT AUTHOR Head of Service, Office of Chief Executive

1. PURPOSE OF REPORT

1.1 The report brings before the Council the results of the Local Government Election for Aberdeen City held on 4th May 2017.

2. RECOMMENDATION

2.1 That the Council resolves to note the report.

3. BACKGROUND/MAIN ISSUES

3.1 Attached as Appendix 1 is a statement from the Returning Officer giving notice of the successful candidates at the election held on 4th May 2017.

4. FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

4.1 There are no direct financial implications arising from the subject matter of this report.

5. LEGAL IMPLICATIONS

5.1 There are no direct legal implications arising from the subject matter of this report.

6. MANAGEMENT OF RISK

6.1 There are no direct risk implications arising from the recommendations of this report.

7. IMPACT SECTION

7.1 The successful election candidates listed on the attached statement will now oversee the delivery of Aberdeen's Local Outcome Improvement Plan and the Council's Strategic Business Plan.

8. BACKGROUND PAPERS

8.1 None

9. APPENDIX

9.1 Appendix 1 – Notice of Successful Candidates in the Aberdeen City Council Local Government Election, 4th May 2017.

10. REPORT AUTHOR DETAILS

10.1 Ciaran Monaghan
Head of Service, Office of Chief Executive
cmonaghan@aberdeencity.gov.uk
01224 522293

Aberdeen City Council Local Government Election – 4th May 2017

I, Angela Scott, as Returning Officer for the Aberdeen City Council give notice that the successful candidates in this election are as follows:-

Ward	Candidate and Description	Stage at which elected	Number of valid votes	Number of votes rejected as void
Dyce/Bucksburn/ Danestone	Barney Crockett – Aberdeen Labour making it happen	6		
	Neil MacGregor – Scottish National Party (SNP)	1		
	Avril MacKenzie – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1	6,608	145
	Gill Samarai – Scottish National Party (SNP)	6		
Bridge of Don	Alison Alphonse – Scottish National Party (SNP)	1		
	Brett Hunt – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1	7,236	114
	John Reynolds – Independent	7		
	Sandy Stuart – Scottish National Party (SNP)	9		
Kingswells/ Sheddocksley/ Summerhill	David Cameron – Scottish National Party (SNP)	5		
	Steve Delaney – Scottish Liberal Democrat Focus Team	1	5,043	85
	John Wheeler – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	7		
Northfield/Mastrick North	Jackie Dunbar – Scottish National Party (SNP)	1	4,382	180

Ward	Candidate and Description	Stage at which elected	Number of valid votes	Number of votes rejected as void
	Gordon Graham – Aberdeen Labour making it happen	8		
	Ciarán McRae – Scottish National Party (SNP)	6		
Hilton/Woodside Stockethill	Neil Copland – Scottish National Party (SNP)	1	4,537	137
	Lesley Dunbar – Aberdeen Labour making it happen	6		
	Freddie John – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	8		
Tillydrone/Seaton/ Old Aberdeen	Ross Grant – Aberdeen Labour making it happen	1		
	Alexander McLellan – Scottish National Party (SNP)	1	3,217	133
	Jim Noble – Scottish National Party (SNP)	9		
Midstocket/ Rosemount	Bill Cormie – Scottish National Party (SNP)	1		
	Jenny Laing – Aberdeen Labour making it happen	7	4,755	80
	Tom Mason – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1		
George Street/ Harbour	Dell Henrickson – Scottish National Party (SNP)	1		
	Ryan Houghton – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	9	3,622	103
	Michael Hutchison – Scottish National Party (SNP)	5		

Ward	Candidate and Description	Stage at which elected	Number of valid votes	Number of votes rejected as void
	Sandra Macdonald – Aberdeen Labour making it happen	7		
Lower Deeside	Philip Bell – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1		
	Marie Boulton – Independent	6	6,811	52
	M. Taqueer Malik – Aberdeen Labour making it happen	8		
Hazlehead/ Queens Cross/ Countesswells	John Cooke – Scottish National Party (SNP)	5		
	Martin Greig – Scottish Liberal Democrats	1	7,508	131
	Claire Imrie – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	5		
	Jennifer Stewart – Scottish Liberal Democrats	1		
Airyhall/Broomhill/ Garthdee	Douglas Lumsden - Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1	6,116	54
	Gordon Townson – Scottish National Party (SNP)	2		
	lan Yuill – Scottish Liberal Democrats	1		
Torry/Ferryhill	Yvonne Allan – Aberdeen Labour making it happen	7	5,598	144
	Christian Allard – Scottish National Party (SNP)	9		
	Alan Donnelly – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1		
	Catriona MacKenzie – Scottish National Party (SNP)	9		

Ward	Candidate and Description	Stage at which elected	Number of valid votes	Number of votes rejected as void
Kincorth/Nigg/Cove	Sarah Duncan – Aberdeen Labour making it happen	8		
	Stephen Flynn – Scottish National Party (SNP)	1		
	Alex Nicoll – Scottish National Party (SNP)	4	5,176	120
	Philip Sellar – Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1		

Dated at Aberdeen, this Seventeenth Day of May, Two Thousand and Seventeen.

Angela Scott Returning Officer